Yonex Voltric 7 Badminton Racquet Review

– Posted in: Badminton Racket Written Reviews, Yonex Voltric
Yonex Voltric 7 Badminton Racquet

Yonex Voltric 7

Having just completed my review of the amazing Voltric 80, I must confess to a feeling of dread reviewing the other two new releases in Voltric range. That’s not taking anything away from the racquet I am about to review. It’s just that, having played with the best racquet I’ve ever had the pleasure to use, how do you follow that? Let’s see…

Voltric 7 was introduced at 2011 All Englands, almost under the shadow of top-of-the-range Voltric 80. This, and its stablemate Voltric 5 didn’t seem to get a mention. That said, sometimes it’s a good thing as the racquet can then claim it’s place without the big bucks marketing behind it. And that’s just what Voltric 7 does.

The Voltric arrived in a full length bag, which is now standard for the Voltric range. Yonex have continued to improve on the graphics and this racquet is very striking in red, with flashes of white and yellow.

This particular model is only available in 4U (weight 81-85g) in UK, and grip size G4 which is the smaller of the grip sizes on offer in UK.

The Voltric range is a combination of Armortec, Nanospeed and Arcsaber science. So far it’s worked remarkably well on the high end Voltrics. But, what about Yonex budget end models? The frame is noticeably thinner all around. There’s no trace of the bulges as we saw on VT70. In fact, I’d say it’s very similar to Nano9900 in frame size.

Balance wise, this is a head heavy racquet, but certainly not as heavy as the other high-end Voltrics. I’d say this is very close to the weight on Armortec 900 Power although wouldn’t say the weight is all at the top. Potentially it could be a good alternative to AT900 T.

This racquet has a medium flex shaft this time which will certainly suit good club and league players.

Maximum recommended tension on this racquet is 24lbs which appears to be a typical feature of Yonex racquets.

On with the review…

I always test racquets straight out of the bag, so there’s no surprise that the tension on this racquet is around 18lbs mark and very suitable for club and league players, especially those playing with plastic shuttles.

It’s hitting time…

I tend to favour head heavy racquets so there’s no surprises that this racquet played very nicely. I’m not too keen on G4 grip sizes but didn’t have the time to re-build the grip to my liking.

In the power department, clears were effortless, despite the lower tension string. You can still feel the weight in the head however, it’s noticeably lighter than VT80. There isn’t the power I experienced with VT80, however, let’s be fair, this is half the price. However, the racquet displayed the usual expected level of consistency which counts for a lot these days.

In my view Voltric range will soon replace Armortec range of racquets. This made me wonder where VT7 fits in the overall scheme of things. Is it a replacement for AT600, a superb racquet? It’s a tough call. It’s certainly much better than AT70MG which was a very nice racquet for the price. However, I’d also say it goes one better than that.

We’ve established the racquet is pretty powerful although lacking compared to VT80. So, what else does it have to offer?

As usual I asked Mark to thunder a few smashes at me to see how the racquet coped in defence and flat rallies.  The slightly lighter head really came into play and demonstrated superb speed whenever I required it. The weight in the head still gave me enough meat to hit with and feel the direction of the racquet but it certainly wasn’t a hindrance. Interesting discovery.

Onto the net, and as expected, the racquet was great, no issues to report here. It was crisp, it was fast, it was controlled, despite the lower tension.

Summary

OK, I’m not going to rave about this racquet like I did VT80. However, it certainly deserves a place in Voltric range. The more I thought about the racquet the more I struggled to place it. However, I finally decided it’s like a medium flex, mid-head heavy Nano9900. It’s got a touch more speed than AT600 without loss of power. That is saying a lot about the racquet because as readers of my blog will testify, my thoughts about Nano9900 and head light racquets in general have changed since my seasons experience of using them.

With an RRP of only £80, this has got to be one of Yonex best bargains! With online discounters you’ll probably pick one up for around £70. Having tested a lot of mid-priced racquets, this has got to be near the top of your list for trying. It’s good looking, performs really well in all departments and it’s a great price.

If there are any downsides to this racquet, then I haven’t experienced them. The racquet didn’t bowl me over like VT80, however, I’m classing that as a once in a lifetime experience. As such, VT7 has done remarkably well to overcome any downers I could have had after my VT80 experience.

So how do I rate this racquet? I compared it to AT600 which I scored 5 stars, compared it to Nano9900 which I also rated highly and yet, here I am wondering why I’m not jumping up and down giving it another 5 stars? Perhaps I am suffering from VT80 withdrawal symptoms?

After stopping this review for a few moments and taking stock of my thoughts here, I think I am suffering withdrawal symptoms and being too harsh on the racquet, comparing it to VT80. With that in mind, and taking into consideration all factors, I really have to stick my neck out and say it’s a wonderful racquet and it really deserves my 5 star rating (sorry VT7 for doubting you for a moment).

As with all my reviews, they are based on my personal thoughts on a racquet. My likes and dislikes will not be the same as yours. Also bear in mind my technique, style, physical build and muscle structure are different so I will always feel a racquet different to you.

To sum up, if you’re looking to spend around £80 for a new racquet, and you want your racquet to pack a punch and yet still be quick in defence and around the net, then this racquet has got to tested. I think it’s the best in Yonex mid-priced range. I’m testing VT5 next and have the feeling this is also going to figure prominently and compete with VT7 for your favour. Watch out because Voltric is slowly taking over.

41 Comments… add one

Ed April 19, 2011, 10:27 pm

Hi Paul, thx for the review. Sounds like a really good alternative for the expensive range. What string type were on the racquet ?
Cheers, ED

Paul April 19, 2011, 11:07 pm

Hi Ed,
It was BG65Ti, factory strung,
Paul

Pat April 21, 2011, 10:55 am

Hi there,
Are you sure ? Mine, UK bought, came up factory strung in BG55, supposed to be standard by Taiwanese made Yonex racquets.
BG55 which I replaced by BG65, 22lbs.
Cheers,
Pat

Paul April 21, 2011, 10:32 pm

Pat

You could be right but it certainly felt like BG65Ti, which I have used for years. From memory BG55 is a thicker gauge string and this certainly didn’t feel it.

One way or another, I’d still have the racquet restrung in BG65Ti or alternative favourite Yonex string to get the best out of it.

Paul

Voltric8014May May 15, 2011, 9:33 am

Aren’t Yonex rackets only made in Japan

Paul May 15, 2011, 12:01 pm

Ryan

In general all top-end Yonex racquets are manufactured in Japan. The mid-lower range may be made in Taiwan or China

Paul

CabbageHeid May 19, 2011, 10:37 am

Hi Paul,

Great review as ever. Very tempted by this racquet, however would also like to find out more about the Voltric 5 before making a decision. In the review you mention you will be looking at the Voltric 5 soon, any idea as to when the review will be posted?

CH

Sam17 June 30, 2011, 10:19 am

Hi, Paul

Can you tell me which one is better between voltric 5 and 7??

Paul June 30, 2011, 9:29 pm

I really can’t you which racquet is better. If you are looking at the quality of materials, then VT7 is better, albeit more expensive.

If you are asking which would be best for you, I honestly can’t say. That is something only you can decide and nobody can tell you otherwise.

Paul

Sam17 July 2, 2011, 1:48 pm

In your opinion which is better? I’m looking a head-heavy racquet and I read that voltric 5 is more head-heavy than voltric 7, is it true?

Paul July 2, 2011, 8:27 pm

Sam

I really can’t answer this question. From memory they are very close but only you can decide which is right for you.

Paul

H a w K November 30, 2011, 2:57 pm

Hello Paul,
I’ve been reading your review on the Voltric 7 & also on the Voltric 80. Thank you for the details & depth of your findings. Hopefully this should be useful in assisting with the replacement of my Armourtec Tour (which is discontinued).

Best Regards,
H a w K

Paul December 1, 2011, 11:20 am

Hawk

I hope you find a good replacement for your AT Tour.

Paul

H a w K December 1, 2011, 8:06 pm

Hi Paul,
Many thanks. I’m struggling with finding a replacement for the Armortec Tour as I’ve tested both the Voltric 60 & 80 & did find differences, yet they still don’t seem to fit that void left by the AT600/Armortec Tour.

I’m hoping that I get a chance to trial the Voltric 70 & Voltric 7 as they both sit that somewhere between the rest of the Voltric range. Granted that every player is different so I can’t decide on reviews alone yet experiences shared does help. The quest continues.

Best Regards, H a w K

Virco April 19, 2012, 6:19 pm

Hello paul and thank you for al the useful reviews you put up here.
Did you by any chance had the occasion to try out the Voltric 9 as to give me a few pointers as what the differences to the Voltric 7 (reviewed here) are.
Cheers,

Paul April 20, 2012, 10:51 pm

Hi Virco

I saw Voltric 9 at All Englands and had one in my hands for a while. The difference between 9 and 7 is that the 9 has a stiff shaft whereas 7 has a medium flex shaft. Without having both racquets in my hands I can’t say whether there are other differences.

Paul

shivam sharma May 1, 2012, 6:35 am

hello Paul,
sir i must say u i am very much benefited after going through your site n all.and after reading your reviews on raquets i have gained a lot of knowledge.

sir,my question to you is, i am having muscle power 29 light,i play on national level in India or generally called (SGFI), but now i am planing to buy a new raquet and i saw ur reviews on voltric 5 and 7, so i just want to know for which i should go for voltric 5 or 7 or i have voltric 9 in my mind, and sir i play aggressive game ,my game is more of power and accuracy , so which raquets should i buy. Pls guide me.

thank u sir

Paul May 1, 2012, 9:21 am

Hi Shivam

First of all, please read my article on choosing a racquet.

Sorry to say I can’t guide you as I don’t know what you like best. Musclepower 29 from memory was a medium flex, even balance racquet. Now you are talking about using medium flex (VT5 or 7) or stiff shaft (VT9) head heavy racquets. Only you know whether they will FEEL good for you and that is the key point.

I will not tell a player which racquet to play with. After all, what if you didn’t like the racquet or had an arm problem after using it? You would then blame me and that wouldn’t be fair.

Let me know what you choose after borrowing a few to test. If you can’t do that, then you have to make a decision to buy and adjust to the racquet.

Good luck

Paul

shivam sharma May 1, 2012, 10:09 am

sir,i have gone through it,i will definitely borrow and try volt 5 and other racquets, but sir, can i not upgrade to any of the three volt i have mentioned, and if not pleas only tell me if u were in place of me u would choose which racquet.

thank u sir

Paul May 3, 2012, 10:35 pm

Shivam

If I were in your shoes I’d read my article on choosing a racquet and really question whether a new racquet was going to give me the best return on my investment compared to coaching lessons. I would then test a few racquets and make a decision to choose one if it met the criteria in the article on choosing a racquet.

Good luck

Paul

Zarul May 9, 2012, 2:22 pm

hi Paul

thank you very much for the review…..
since last week i was in dilemma in choosing rackets….
my choice are VT5, VT7 and VT9…..
and i bought VT9 yesterday, with string BG66 ultimax 24lbs….
and i’m very impress, i feel more power in every hit than using my old Carbonex 10 SP…..
drops and net plays looks easy……
i feel like this VT9 is my Carbonex 10 SP with more power……
overall, i feel it is worth every penny i spent on the racket…..

Zarul May 16, 2012, 3:10 pm

hi Paul

i just want to ask if you ever try Voltric 9, what do u think about the racket??

Paul May 17, 2012, 9:31 pm

Zarul

I haven’t played with Voltric 9. It’s a great looking racquet and I held one at All Englands. So sadly I can’t tell you much about it and how it plays or compares to other Voltric racquets in the range. At the moment there are no plans to test the racquet and review it.

Paul

Amal Matty Antony September 8, 2012, 10:43 am

Hi Paul I am confused whether to buy Voltric 7 or Li-Ning HC1350. By the way is Li- ning a good, reliable company.

Paul September 10, 2012, 3:04 pm

Amal

Both are very good brands of racket. I don’t know Li Ning rackets but can highly recommend Voltric 7. It’s up to you to choose.

Paul

rmcphers October 3, 2012, 2:33 pm

Hello Paul,

I am a (former) squash player who moved to Bangkok and (was forced to) discover badminton at age 53, starting as a beginner. It has been a pleasant discovery and lots of fun to learn the game in a place like Thailand. Thais are very polite and not overly competitive on the badminton court and although they take the game seriously having fun is high priority. And of course Thai badminton girls rock.

At this point I am perhaps an advanced beginner/low intermediate player and I decided I needed to get a decent racquet. Your reviews really helped and I decided to get the Voltric 7 and played with it for the first time today, strung with Yonex BG65ti at 21 pounds. I had a very good first experience with it and am looking forward to getting to know the racquet better. I have the money to buy a “better” racquet but to be honest I would feel funny playing with a Voltric 80 with the Thais that I know here who are much better players than me but don’t have the money to spring for a racquet like that. Maybe when I am a bit better player I can consider it ……

Partly I am writing just to thank you for your reviews and website which led me to this racquet. But also I have a question. I’m a reasonably big guy and have large Western hands. In Thailand the only racquet grip size you can find is Yonex G5. So, as long as I am buying locallly, I am stuck with the approach of buying a racquet that has a grip that is too small for me and building it up. My question is, can you provide general guidance about how big I should build up the grip to be so that it is “just right”? I realize that this is a personal issue to some extent but am interested in general guidelines that might inform my effort to get it right. For example, right now, with my new Voltric 5, with a G5 grip and a padded thick overgrip, my middle and ring finger certainly come around the grip and touch the edge of my hand below the thumb, and the part of my index finger that is gripping the large bevel on the racquet is the uppermost section and not the middle section.

Thanks for any guidance you might provide.

Bob

Paul October 4, 2012, 10:36 am

Bob

Many thanks for your comments and question.

You are correct when you say grip choice and size is personal. As a general rule, too small a grip will cause you to grip tighter which can lead to tennis elbow injuries, due to the increased persistent pressure.

As a general rule, your third finger should just be able to touch the fleshy part of your hand below your thumb. But, that doesn’t mean this will be correct for you.

To your success

Paul

Caleb October 16, 2012, 3:25 am

Hi Paul,

I thank you for your dedication in writing all these badminton Raquet reviews.

I’m 23, relatively strong build and I’ve been playing Badminton for 5 years and would consider myself as an Intermediate Player.

This is my first time looking for a racquet myself. Previously, I’ll just use ANY racquet. The one I’m currently using is Prince 900xp whip lite. Its a racquet from the 90s, heavy headed, and very heavy. Too heavy for my liking.

I’m looking at either ArcSaber 5DX or Voltric 7. How does the 2 compare?

Another thing is I’ve super sweaty palms. What kind of grip should I use?

Paul October 16, 2012, 3:52 pm

Caleb

Many thanks for your question.

It is very difficult to compare rackets. First of all I do not stock rackets and therefore all I can do is look back at my racket reviews, which you can also do. In some ways it’s an unfair question because my comparison may be completely different to yours…and yours is the only view that matters. So, it’s best if you can find players using these rackets and hopefully they will let you try them.

I remember the old Prince racket but didn’t play with it. If it’s very head heavy, then both these rackets will feel faster. Be careful that you don’t move to a racket that is too head light as you may find you lose power in your overhead.

If you have sweaty hands, most players use towel grip with a grip powder (resin) applied for tackiness. Otherwise, I suggest you experiment until you find the perfect grip for you.

To your success

Paul

And12 January 5, 2013, 10:56 am

Hi Paul,
thank you so much for your reviews! I am looking for a new racquet and it’s either a Voltric 70 or a Voltric 7. I’ve tried a Voltric 70 (4U G4) extensively and it suits me very well. After more research, I found the VT 7 which appears to be similar to the 70 (both available in 4U G4, medium flex, head heavy) on some levels. However, I am unable to try the Voltric 7.

Can you tell me how differently the two racquets perform and in your opinion, whether the higher price of the VT 70 is worth it (VT70 is about 1.5 times more expensive than the VT7 in my region)?

Many Thanks.

Paul January 7, 2013, 12:04 pm

And

This is a tough question. Every racket has a particular feel and that feeling is different for each player.

I can’t do a comparison because I would have to play with both rackets again and do not have access to them. And, this would be my comparison which will still be different for you.

The question will be how much you enjoyed playing with VT70 and whether you felt it added to your game. Without playing with VT7 do you feel you are going to lose so much by using a cheaper version? If you do, then go with VT70. If budget is an issue then VT7 has to be a good alternative.

To your success

Ajith January 10, 2013, 7:12 pm

Hi Paul,
Thanks for your review which prompted me to go for Voltric 7 last week. I have been using low end Carbonex rackets – BG 65 strung @ 22 – till now and the new head heavy isometric V7 looks and feels really good and connects well but I am not happy with the string.

Would you suggest BG65 which I am used to or anything better? For your information, I am not a smash and power player but more into slow controlled game (read middle age).

Paul January 13, 2013, 10:28 pm

Ajith

I would have your new racket strung as you normally prefer it. Then you have a direct comparison. Over time you may wish to test variations on tension and string to find the optimum string and tension combination for this racket at your current level of play.

Good luck

Paul

ashwin1441 February 21, 2013, 10:14 am

Hi Paul,

Hope you are doing good.

I am a club level player in India.
Well I recently broke my Voltric 7 and was thinking which racket should I go for next.
As your review says me too loved playing with this racket and am very comfortable with it.
So was thinking whether should I buy the same again or an Arc saber 7 or any other reccomendation from you.
Unfortunately we dont get to test rackets here and have to live with the rackets once bought.

PS : In singles I play an equal of offense and defence while doubles is more of offence.

Hope to hear from you.

Thanks. God bless.

Paul February 24, 2013, 11:37 am

Ashwin

Yes, it is a dilemma whether to hopefully find something better or buy the same again. In my opinion having two identical rackets is better than completely different, therefore if you break string then you carry on with your spare rather than make adjustments.

Good luck

Paul

armand June 5, 2013, 11:57 am

Hi Paul..
Is 22×23 dangerous string pattern for my Voltric 7? Tension is 24 lbs.. String is bg 70 pro… Thanks a lot….

Paul June 5, 2013, 10:40 pm

Armand

If you string in accordance with Yonex stringing pattern then you are fine. If you change the pattern, the you invalidate your warranty. If the frame breaks, do not expect Yonex to replace FOC.

Paul

NaruHodo July 20, 2013, 8:12 pm

what difference if we strung it at 28 lbs and at 24 lbs ? is the repulsion will be the same ?

Paul July 22, 2013, 10:57 am

Repulsion with be different. If you string beyond 24lbs then you invalidate the warranty on the racket.

If you string at 28lbs then the shuttle will repel of the strings much faster and provide more control. If you are looking for higher repulsion in respect of power then the lower tension will provide this better than higher tension.

Paul

aryaman September 19, 2013, 6:54 am

Thx a lot sir your advice has really helped me. I would like to know if bg 65 titanium with 24 tension would be fine on my voltric7

aryaman September 19, 2013, 7:14 am

Hi I was thinking of upgrading from my voltric 7 which racquet would you advise.