Victor Meteor JJS Badminton Racquet Review

– Posted in: Badminton Equipment, Badminton Racket Written Reviews, Victor Badminton Rackets

Background

The Meteor JJS badminton racquet has an unusual history. Designed and built for Korean player Jung Jae Sung, 2012 All England Men’s Doubles Champion and winner of countless tournaments worldwide with partner Lee Yong Dae. JJS retired from international badminton after 2012 Olympics where he gained a bronze medal.

His signature racquet was launched in Asia and then we waited and waited and waited until it finally arrived in Europe. The delays were caused by composition naming reasons which took some time to resolve. This was also at a time when there was speculation of the arrival of Meteor 90 so this racquet was a bit of a surprise, especially as the player was retiring.

Generally I’m not a fan of signature racquets because they tend to be made for sales rather than carry the flag as stand alone racquets worthy of mention and purchase. However, Victor seem to have got this right as each of their signature racquets so far have been extremely good, great value for money and worth putting on your must try list. Let’s see if MX JJS can do the same…

On to my review…

MX JJS arrived in a high quality black and red full length racquet cover with the players signature and name at the centre.

As usual, all top-end Victor racquets arrive unstrung. As this is my demonstrator model I strung it to 25lbs although maximum tension is stated at 28lbs. Whilst the pros have theirs strung beyond this, a demonstrator should be strung for the league player and their requirements.

Markings suggest this is a 3U (85-89g)– G4 grip size together with 4-5 for head weight and 4-5 shaft flexibility, which means JJS has a medium stiff  shaft and is pretty head heavy.

Having tested and reviewed other racquets in Meteor family, the JJS was relatively familiar in terms of feel which is more solid that a Bravesword although perhaps not as fast. It‘s a very striking looking racquet, predominantly orange in colour with black  and silver decals. The shaft also carries the signature of Jung Jae Sung.

It’s hitting time…

Overhead Performance

Having recently tested Thruster 8000, and had a fair amount of play with Bravesword LHI, I really wasn’t prepared for what I discovered with Meteor Jung Jae Sung. The head doesn’t feel as if it’s carrying the same weight as Thruster although falls into the same specification and yet is more solid feeling compared to BS LHI.

This badminton racquet could almost be seen as a blend of these two racquets although leaning more towards Thruster. For some reason, it has got something else that’s good although I can’t quite understand what it is.

The feel of the racquet in the clear is crisp and powerful. You notice there is weight in the head but it’s a more overall solid feel rather than a tip of the head, leading the racquet kind of weight. This provides both precision and power in a combination I haven’t felt for some time which is really nice. The medium stiff shaft helps deliver all that is required with perfect timing.

There’s no sense of drag or timing issues here. The shot stays true and even off centre shots remained on target.

Drop shots were again nice and crisp and sharp which is how I like them. There’s enough in the head to really throw in a slice without it feeling as though you’re pulling your arm or placing too much strain on your wrist.

Onto the smash and this is where I was caught out. I wasn’t expecting too much from MX JJS before I went on court. However this racquet delivered more powerful smashes than BS LHI which was a real shock for me. And, the smashes seemed to go down easier with less effort. Before moving onto defence I re-tested both Thruster 8000 and Bravesword LHI and surprisingly, for me Meteor JJS came out tops in terms of smash power – I wouldn’t have believed it if I hadn’t tested it for myself.

Defence

Defensively JJS was quicker than Thruster 8000 and moved extremely well. It’s not quite got the speed of a Bravesword but it’s still very quick. Fast flat rallies were fun as it handled them with ease and returning smashes was a joy allowing me to sit back and decide what I wanted to do with the shuttle.  The responsiveness of the shuttle off the racquet face was superb with plenty of control which allowed me the luxury of blocking with the smallest of movements rather than having to push through more.

Net Area

Around the net MXJJS plays really well. It’s fast and yet solid enough but not unwieldy in any way. I’ll agree is a touch slower than a Bravesword but I can live with that because it still delivers fast enough. I seemed to get an even better, more positive connection with this racquet compared to others and I still can’t explain why.

We spent some time testing return of serve and there’s plenty of touch here. It sends those mid court pushes into play so smoothly and yet will happily clip the shuttle to drop into onto the net. A little finger power and it’s easy to punch the shuttle into the corners or down the centre at opponents.

Victor Meteor X JJS Badminton RacketSummary

Before I sum up my thoughts on Meteor JJS I think I need to make a statement or two. Players reading this may draw the conclusion that as I have moved sponsors to Victor, my racquet reviews are coloured to favour my sponsor. So I’ll state for the record that my blog has no bearing on my sponsorship arrangements and I remain 100% in control of what I say and which products I review.

Most readers know by now I review products which are provided for me and will happily review other manufacturers products too. Each racquet is viewed impartially and if I consider a racquet isn’t that good then I will say so. If I allow sponsorship to dictate my scores then my reviews become a complete waste of time and that won’t happen.

Meteor Jung Jae Sung is an exceptional racquet that possesses something extra but I’m not sure what. Its playability was beyond what I expected having tested other Meteors and has provided me with a huge dilemma in terms of my racquet of choice for the season.

I know players who use Meteor 60 and all of them have said how much they enjoy the racquet and do not look forward to the day they have to change. I now understand why they say this. Since I tested this racquet I really can’t wait to play with it again – very strange.

RRP is around £170 which is pretty good for a top of the range racquet. Online retailers are discounting to around £120 which is extremely good and at these prices well worth a test. To be honest I highly recommend you test the racquet anyway if the specifications are similar to your personal preferences.

If head heavy racquets are not your cup of tea I would give MX JJS a fair chance. On reflection, because the weight isn’t at the top of the head it doesn’t feel like a head heavy racquet. It, just came to me, this racquet has some of the magic that I first discovered on Yonex Armortec 900 T. It’s that something you can’t explain but makes you want to pick up the racquet and play. So it must be something about the distribution of weight in the head that just works so well.

No doubt you can tell I’ve gotten smitten with Meteor JJS and it’s  surprised me. I really can’t find any faults with it or areas I’d like to change. It does everything to an extremely high standard and that’s what I look for in a racquet. Despite the fact that some players may criticise me for this review I am going to stick to my beliefs and give MX JJS a 5 star rating.

Keep watching www.victor-sport.co.uk for information where you can test Meteor Jung Jae Sung badminton racquet and other Victor racquets.

To receive regular badminton help, advice and tips from me click here to subscribe to my mailing list

26 Comments… add one

xzavire September 20, 2013, 5:26 pm

Great review as usual thanks Paul. Can you comment a little about the headweight difference between the JJS and MX80, MX60 or BS10? From your review it sounds like the JJS is not a traditional headheavy racket but does have a balance point in that direction due to the weight at the bottom half of the racket head. In your opinion does this feature play a role in the manoeuvrability during fast exchanges?

Paul Stewart September 22, 2013, 10:16 pm

It’s pure coincidence but I have a BS10 in my grasp at the moment as I strung one for a coach. Whilst the feel is different in terms of movement through the air, JJS is amazingly close to BS10. MX80 is so much stiffer than JJS and MX60 a little more flexible.

For me Victor got the combination just right with JJS and I hope MX90 proves to be identical to JJS – almost a repainted version.

Paul

tom September 20, 2013, 10:24 pm

Couldn’t agree more Paul. I had the chance to play with a few of Stuarts demo rackets last night and fell completely in love with the JJS. Such effortless power and accuracy combined with great maneuverability for a racket of this type seemed something really quite special. I had gone off 3U head heavy stiff rackets due to shoulder problems but felt no pain at all.

Top marks to Victor!

syanty September 22, 2013, 1:29 pm

Hi Paul,

When will you review the Meteor X 90? we are looking for it ^^

Paul Stewart September 22, 2013, 10:13 pm

I am told I will have Meteor 90 within 2 weeks.

Hopefully the racket will arrive this week but I can’t be certain as Victor are expecting a delivery tomorrow.

Watch this space…

Paul

rych05 September 23, 2013, 10:45 am

thanks for the review :D..

by any chance, would you be doing any review for meteor 70? :D

Paul Stewart September 25, 2013, 8:58 am

I won’t be reviewing Meteor 70 as it’s the same as Meteor London. I am expecting the arrival of Meteor 90 and Thruster 6000 soon and these will be the next rackets for reviewing.

Paul

leopard September 28, 2013, 11:17 am

Hi Paul,

How do you compare the Meteor JJS with the Voltric 80 and the Meteor X60 in terms of attacking, maneuverability? I’m currently using the Voltric 80 and looking for a backup racket but would want to try Victor.

Thanks.

Paul Stewart September 29, 2013, 11:26 pm

Leopard

Interesting question and good choice of rackets. I know VT80 very well as it’s been my racket for the last 2 years until recently. JJS and MX60 are not as head heavy as VT80 and therefore quicker in defence but certainly no slouches in attacking. MX60 has the most flexible shaft out of the 3 rackets. If you’re so used to VT80 then why would you consider using a more flexible racket?

Personally I usually fall into the camp of wanting exactly the same racket in my bag as a spare however, you could easily use a JJS if you like VT80. It’s a very similar feel although not as head heavy. Switching to this racket will certainly speed your game up a little. This could prove very useful at the end of an evening if fatigue is setting in. You may find renewed energy by changing your racket.

I’ve really been surprised by the quality of JJS and can easily say hand on heart it’s worth a try. I am using this racket now and haven’t missed my old VT80′s – surprisingly.

Paul

PS Please let me know what you choose.

syanty September 30, 2013, 10:28 am

Hi Paul,

Is it possible for you to compare Yonex Arcsaber 11 and Meteor X 90 side by side? (as it seems like both companies are targeting the same product positioning, eg: hold the shuttle on the string bed for longer time for greater control )

Also, will the comparison review of Meteor X 90 be made side by side with Meteor X JJS?

Paul Stewart October 2, 2013, 9:34 am

Syanty

I have no idea when Meteor 90 will be available for me to test. If this racket is close to Meteor JJS then I will be delighted. I liked Arc 11 however I really can’t say it’s a massive improvement on Arc 10 which it succeeded.

At the end of the day, both are very good rackets. I am waiting eagerly for release of MX90 for me to test but I have to be patient like everyone else.

Paul

dncrgl October 19, 2013, 8:31 pm

Hi Paul, your review has really encouraged me to do some research on the JJS. I was wondering how its shaft stiffness compares to the AT900T? And what about its headheaviness? Both being 3U. Thanks!

Paul Stewart October 20, 2013, 2:58 pm

Good question. There are certainly similarities in feel between these two rackets. It would be unfair to try and compare because I do not have both rackets with me now. Head weight is very similar in terms of where the weight appears to be positioned. AT900T shaft may be a touch stiffer but there isn’t much in it.

Paul

Danny October 22, 2013, 3:04 pm

Hi Paul,

Which racket will you be using, I know you previously said Bravesword LHI, but your review of the JJS seems very positive? Also thanks for the advice on the powerizer tape, it has made a difference to my BS12. Really enjoying the Victor rackets after converting from Yonex.

Thanks
Danny

Paul Stewart October 22, 2013, 10:42 pm

Danny

Believe it or not I haven’t chosen a racket. I now carry a demo bag with all of the rackets including the latest Thruster 6000. With more new rackets due early next year and one or two being withdrawn I am holding off making a decision. Also, I’m happy to use different rackets because it allows me time to get more acquainted with each racket. So Thrsuter 6000 is getting used this Saturday so I can review followed by Lightfighter 7400, BS12 L and then the remaining Lightfighter rackets.

Paul

Danny October 23, 2013, 2:27 pm

Too much choice! Thanks for the repsonse Paul, I feel the urge to splurge on another new racket, so I look forward to the reviews! The 7400 interests me as I play MD/XD rather than singles, so it will be intersting to see what you think.

Danny

lhkjacky November 4, 2013, 12:26 pm

Dear Paul,

It is a great review.
I am using VT80.
It is a great racket, however it is a bit slow during defense (men double).
The racket a love most is MP100.

I am thinking to get the ARC 11 or MX JJS.
I know you have reviewed both the rackets.
Would you mind compare the power, speed, control, defense between this two racket?

Thank you very much

Paul Stewart November 5, 2013, 9:20 am

Thank you for your question.

I was testing again yesterday with a good friend who knows his rackets. He agreed with me that my score for JJS was spot on in terms of the racket performing so well. And yet, yesterday we found something better which I will review this week.

It is hard to compare rackets because I do not have them at the same time to compare. However JJS scored high in every area whereas I thought Arc 11 was lacking. It is a good all-rounder but it just doesn’t shine enough to be outstanding. Compared to your VT80 which I know intimately, JJS is faster because it doesn’t quite carry the same weight in the head.

If I tried to score in each area I would be making up numbers to answer your question and I feel I would not be answering honestly.

PLease let me know which racket you settled on.

Paul

lhkjacky November 5, 2013, 4:02 pm

Thank you for your reply. :)

It is so exciting to know, you found something better. ^^ I guess it must be the new MX90 or may be the NR-ZSP? :P
I will wait for your review before I make my decision. I am looking forward to see your new review.
Thank you

Mark Appleton November 7, 2013, 10:10 am

I tested the JJS with Paul, along with half a dozen others, and this one stood out by a mile. So much so, in fact, that I bought it.

It’s such a shame that this is a signature racket – those always get overlooked – because it’s by FAR the best all-round Meteor, in my opinion – the MX80 is a bit too “uncompromising”, and the MX70 and 60 are too soft for serious power.

Jack November 9, 2013, 7:52 pm

Hi there Paul!
Great review, as always! How would you compare this racket to the BS 11 though? I mean in terms of stiffness and head heavyness from your personal experience.
I am in immediate need of a racket and have heard amazing things about the awesome speed of the BS series of rackets and I’m wondering if there too much difference in the speed of JJS and BS11.
My usual go to racket was the VT70 (4U) but I gave it away since it felt a bit underpowered after playing with it for a year. I needed something a bit more stiffer and meatier.
What would you recommend?

Paul Stewart November 10, 2013, 10:30 am

Jack

JJS has a different feel to BS11. The beauty of Bravesword technology is the fast frame, and yet it’s tremendously strong. For me JJS was a surprise package because it had everything. Whilst the frame cannot be as fast as BS11, it’s still very fast but with additional power.

VT70 is a good racket. Just because I am now sponsored by Victor, I am not going to knock Yonex. However, VT70 didn’t do it for me. JJS is a far superior racket in my opinion. A stiffer and meatier Voltric would of course be VT80 which I personally used. I’d be hard pushed to choose between JJS and VT80, although having just reviewed TK6000 I’d have to say this is the racket that I’d consider to provide a better all round experience with power in the mix too.

Please let me know which racket you settled on Jack.

Paul

Jack November 10, 2013, 10:51 am

Thanks a lot for that very prompt reply Paul. I am currently leaning towards the JJS and I think I’ll just go for it. Will definitely let you know how it turns out.
Thanks again for your help!

Paul Stewart November 10, 2013, 10:30 pm

Jack

If you decide to go with JJS then I sincerely hope it plays as well for you as it did for me. Please let me know if you order one.

Paul

HARRY January 6, 2014, 3:48 am

hi paul, for overall ur tested which one better between mx jjs and bs lyd, thx very much, sory if my english bad, nice to know u

Paul Stewart January 6, 2014, 3:03 pm

Harry

My opinion of which racket is better may not be the same as yours. I felt LYD needed to be stiffer and would have then been a better racket. JJS is, in my opinion a better racket for my game, even though I don’t play often. This has now been superceded by MX90 so I would select MX90 over the other two.

I hope this helps.

Paul