Victor Jetspeed 10 Badminton Racket Review

Victor Jetspeed S 10 Badminton Racket

Background

The Jetspeed 10 badminton racket was introduced in 2014 only months after the launch of the Jetspeed 9. It was a brave move from Victor by introducing new technologies together with a smaller head shape and thinner shaft in one racket.

The Jetspeed series was designed to replace the extremely popular Bravesword range. Succeeding a popular range is extremely difficult for any manufacturer, presenting a modern alternative compared to tried and tested technology.  The early Jetspeeds were not well received with international players who remained loyal to the Bravesword range.

Fast forward to 2015 and JS10 has been selected as the racket of choice by numerous international players. The racket has taken Europe by storm, selling out in a matter of weeks. It’s likely this will continue with demand outstripping supply, therefore placing the racket at the top of many players most wanted lists.

As a stringer at the All Englands, I had the opportunity to see these rackets before they were launched in Europe. Having restrung so many at this tournament, and seen so many players using them, I can confirm they are a very strong frame. I was frequently stringing these frames beyond 28lbs with the maximum being 34/35 lbs.  (NB these tensions are for tournament professional players and are not recommended for the majority of club standard players. Additionally, stringing at these tensions will invalidate your warranty).

On to my review

The Jetspeed 10 arrived in the black cloth bag with the Jetspeed branding. Readers of my reviews will know my thoughts on these cloth bags…they’re not the best covers for high-end rackets.

JS10 is a good-looking racket in black and turquoise with white and red decals. This is a 4U version (80-84g) G5, small grip. The racket arrived unstrung so I selected my favourite string Ashaway Zymax Fire 66 and restrung to 25lbs as this will eventually become one of my demo rackets.  This is an even balance frame and 4/5 rating for shaft stiffness which means it’s probably a bit light for me.

It’s hitting time

Having used other Jetspeed rackets, I expected something different from Jetspeed 10. After all, this racket boasts a thinner shaft with Shark skin technology plus a slightly smaller head (a touch of cynicism there). Would there be those dreaded frame issues?

Overhead performance

Having tested a number of 4U frames recently I was expecting a fast frame and this is exactly what I got. In fact, I’d say this is the fastest frame I have ever played with and as such caught me out a number of times when the racket was simply too quick for the shuttle.

Jetspeed 10 Badminton RacketI was pleasantly surprised how well JS10 handled. I was initially startled by the sheer speed of the frame. But, this is more than just a one trick pony. JS10 oozes power too despite being an even balance offering. My goodness if Victor could add a little more weight to the head, this racket will be my utopia.  The feel is crisp, sharp and delivers superbly well. There was just about enough weight in the head for me to feel where it was at any time. Unexpectedly I found clearing a doddle which made me re-think whether I could move away from the more head heavy rackets as this would give me more of what I want. Let’s move on…

Drop shots were really quick. You almost have to reign in the racket a little because it’s so quick and therefore easy to lose control. I really enjoyed the swing speed here making clip returns simple with very little movement. It’s also easy to play those half shots too, taking the pace off the shuttle enough to place in the forecourt. Slice returns were also quicker and the beauty with this racket is the extra wrist I can use in the shot. It was such a delight to hit so well with this racket, still having plenty of feel and there’s still a strength to the racket to provide tons of confidence that it has more to offer.

Onto the smash. Whilst the racket is so fast, this helped me deliver good, strong smashes – ideal.  The more powerful guys like Mark unleashed many a thunderbolt which proved that this has such tremendous power and potential. It’s the closest to a one-size fits all racket that I have tested.

Flat drives and pushes were so easy although I confess I missed a couple because the frame was so fast! A mere finger squeeze and the shuttle is flying back to my training partner. JS10 encourages you to shorten your swing which in turn gains more control. It was so easy to inject pace into the shot or deliver the deftest of touches, taking the pace off. The frame speed ensures early preparation too.

Defence

The speed and lightness of the frame made defending a joy and I found it easy to block, lift or drive. Defensive players will love the speed of the frame together with the control and power you can generate so easily. The racket coped so much better at retrieving body shots and the really big smashes. What a bonus!

Net area

I always enjoy playing at the net, trying to dominate and intimidate my opponent. Jetspeed 10 delivered superbly well whether I was playing a net shot, intercepting or going for a knock-off. Again, I had to be mindful of the speed of the frame and control it but overall the racket felt like an extension of my hand.

Summary

Jetspeed 10 is so far the pinnacle of pure genius from Victor. It’s got everything a player could ask for, strength, speed, power, touch. I missed a few returns but thankfully didn’t have any framing issues that bothered me from previous smaller frame reviews. This racket handles anything you can throw at it and more. No wonder so many international players have opted to use it.

Internationally I hear the frame is available as a 3U, 4U and 5U. Personally I cannot see the point of the 5U. The JS10 is fast enough in 4U. I would dearly like to test the 3U version adding a touch more beef which is a personal requirement and not detrimental to the racket I tested. As always, I’m curious.

RRP is £190 which is expected for a top of the range model. Online stores have already discounted to just under £140 which I think is superb value for money. You are getting a lot of racket for your money, an outstanding performer.

This racket is so good that I now use it as my racket of choice. I now find that, despite my recent injuries, I can still play to a high level with JS10, and thoroughly enjoy the experience too. I highly recommend this racket to players and would urge you to put this at the top of your must try list.

Having tested so many rackets over the years and rated a number as 5 star it’s difficult to know how to rate this racket. For me, the Victor brand has just taken a massive step forwards with JS10. I thought TK6000, TK9000 were so good and yet this comes along and re-writes the script yet again. I really wasn’t expecting that at all.

I have no intention of downgrading previous reviews and therefore have decided to add another category for 5 star ratings. Following this review I’m introducing bronze, silver, gold and platinum standard only for five star rated rackets.  In view of the sheer quality of Jetspeed 10, I give this racket my first gold award. What an amazing racket. I suspect the 3U model may top this but, as it’s not available in Europe, that may remain a mystery. However, I invite Victor Asia to send me a 3U version (please) and I will gladly review again!

International Online Badminton Coaching Club

43 Comments

  1. blablabla21 May 11, 2017 at 8:49 pm

    Hi Paul,

    I have read a lot of your reviews and really appreciated your opinions on the rackets. After reading your articles I am currently confused and wonder whether you could help me pin-point the right racket for me ?

    I have been playing badminton for more than 10 years and I play 70% doubles and 30% singles. I have the skills to generate relatively good power but I am far from muscular.

    I have used the following rackets for the past:

    1. Yonex Muscle Power 99: Everything is perfect.
    2. Yonex Arcsaber Z-Slash: Really like the control and accuracy
    3. Yonex AT900p, AT700: definitely too head heavy for me
    4. Yonex VT80 3U: definitely not for me, feel very head heavy and sluggish
    5. Yonex Nanospeed 9900: the head is too light for clear and smash
    6. Carlton Vapour Trail Elite: like the stiff shaft for backhand drive, hate the stiff shaft for not able to generate power in difficult situations

    I am currently considering the following racket and I am wondering which one would you say that is similar to Yonex Z-Slash and would be good for both singles and doubles ?

    1. Victor Jetspeed S10 3U
    2. Victor Jetspeed S12 3U
    3. Yonex Lin Dan Force
    4. Yonex Arcsaber 11
    5. Yonex Duora Z-Strike

    Thank you very much !

    • Paul Stewart May 17, 2017 at 9:09 am

      Many thanks for outlining your dilemma in detail. At least you have established that head heavy or head light rackets are not for you. I think you should remove Lin Dan Force from your list. Considering you liked Z Slash, the closest to this racket is Jetspeed 10 but ask for a 3U version. Next would be Duora Z Strike. I don’t know much about this racket as I haven’t tested it yet. Third is Arcsaber 11 and have Jetspeed 12 as a fourth option.

      I hope this helps

      Good luck

      • Zen May 17, 2017 at 9:54 am

        Hi Paul,

        Interesting chat..
        Now i wanna ask, what racket in Yonex range which is close to JS10?
        Since i love my JS10 4U
        Considering NS9900, NR800, NR700RP or other.

        Thanks.

      • Paul Stewart May 17, 2017 at 4:28 pm

        The closest racket to Jetspeed 10 is Duora Z Strike

      • blablabla21 May 23, 2017 at 1:14 am

        Hi Paul,

        Thank you very much for your reply ! I decided to go for the Z-Strike after comparing it with the Arc 11 and ZFII on the field. Would love to see your review on the Z-Strike.

  2. Pxwee5 April 5, 2017 at 9:39 am

    I’ve come across this racket in 4U and I must say it is pretty good.

    Have only a couple questions.
    1. Does professional player use 3U or 4U?
    2. If I purchase a 4U, can I use weight tapes to make it heavier without altering the balance point?
    3. How do I choose between 3U and 4U really?

    • Paul Stewart April 6, 2017 at 7:06 am

      Most of the professional players use 4U version, but I have restrung 4U for one of them.

      If you use weight tapes then you usually use them on the head of the racket. This will therefore change the balance of the racket.

      4U version has sold out so many times in Europe. It has been Victor’s most popular racket and I have received so many positive comments from players thanking me for writing my review, because without it, they wouldn’t have purchased. The difference between 3 and 4U can be as little as 1g and as much as 9g. You won’t feel a 1g difference. I can’t choose the weight for you but I still have my demo which is 4U and it’s still one of the most popular rackets in my bag.

      Good luck choosing.

  3. Robin_Lam March 24, 2017 at 4:01 pm

    Hi paul…
    I bought JS10 3U G5…i’m using VS-850 string and ask the stringer to set it up with 28lbs…just like what written on the racket…. It’s very good for drive, clear even smash…but not lift… Maybe because its not 4U….somehow i feel VS-850 is not my string….. I was using nanogy 99 for my arcsaber 05tour… Maybe i wanna restrung my JS10 with BG80 or just like what you used the Ashaway Zymax Fire 66…. Can u suggest me which one better..why.. . And why u used ashway not the other strings…. Any particular reason…. What is the advantages and disadvantages between BG80 and ashaway zymax fire 66…
    I hope u could understand my broken english….. Thanks ya paul…..

    • Paul Stewart March 25, 2017 at 7:29 am

      Robin – test all of these strings and you decide which provides you with the best feeling for the shots you play.

      • Robin_Lam March 25, 2017 at 1:21 pm

        Oke paul 🙂

  4. Muzakkirnadzif March 12, 2017 at 4:56 am

    Hi Paul,
    Currently i am using JS10 with 3U5G spec. I am inlove with this racket. i am now considering to restring my racket from 23 lbs to 25lbs because. will 2 lbs makes a lot difference?

    Which overgrip you prefer the most?

    Thanks Paul.

    • Paul Stewart March 12, 2017 at 8:17 am

      The only way you will know is to test. Of course, the stringbed will be tighter and may take a little getting used to. However, you may love it so it’s worth the test.

  5. kevinl February 28, 2017 at 6:39 am

    Hi Paul,

    I am currently playing with Yonex Arcsaber Z-slash 3U and enjoying the fast frame, relative even balance with a slight head weight. I am looking to acquire a second racquet.
    If I prefer a similar racquet as ARCZ in terms of handling and power, would you recommend JS10 or JS12, and 3U or 4U please? Thanks!

    Best regards,
    Kevin

    • Paul Stewart February 28, 2017 at 6:48 am

      Hi Kevin

      I would recommend a 3U JS10.

      • kevinl March 1, 2017 at 5:15 am

        Hi Paul,

        Thank you for your advice.

        I assume the 3U version will be a tad slower than the 4U version? In your opinion, would you prefer the additional weight of a 3U version or the faster speed of a 4U version in a doubles game?

        Best regards,
        Kevin

      • Paul Stewart March 8, 2017 at 11:38 am

        My personal opinion – I prefer the 3u, but everyone is different & you need to test for yourself

  6. Zen January 31, 2017 at 1:30 am

    Hi Paul,

    Just recently back to play badminton again (2 month) intermediate level..
    Only play double..
    I have 3 racket..

    Gift from office
    HX800P 4U @26lbs (not so well) need training to add power in arm & wrist

    Since its not yet fit me well,
    Bought refering to your review..
    VT LdF 4U @25lbs (amazing)
    JS12 3U @28lbs (amazing) want to restung@25lbs..

    Want to add more racket, may be the faster one..
    Just courious list of racket that you bring when playing double.. Seem it will suit me.. 🙂

    Thinking buy JS10..
    But there is issue about stiffness..
    Comfot in using mid flex shaft feel in overall play…
    will JS10 suit me? or would you suggest other racket..
    Thanks..

    Best regards..
    Zen

    • Paul Stewart February 23, 2017 at 3:53 pm

      Zen a 3U JS10 is sooo good. It’s not that stiff that you can’t handle it, but I cannot preduct whether you will like it.

  7. DeanMargus January 8, 2017 at 9:11 pm

    Hi Paul,

    i have the 4U version of the Jetspeed 10 (with 23 lbs). I would give the racket the following rating:

    Drive: 5/5
    Clear: 3/5
    Smash: 3/5
    Short Defense: 4/5
    Long Defense: 2/5
    Net: 4/5
    Drop: 3/5
    Feeling/Control of the Racket (Solid or Loose impact feeling): 2/5

    So my Overall Rating for doubles is: 3.5 and for Singles is 3 out of 5

    In my opinion the racket is really good for Drives and Netplay and short defencive shots. Smashs and Clears are OK. Long defencive shots are really weak. But the worst thing about the racket is the fact, that theres simply no feeling what the racket head does because the head is so loose and light. In doubles it mighty be not a big deal but for singles its really a no-go.

    Dont get me wrong, i dont want to say that its a bad racket but after using the racket some months i wanted it share my experience.

    Cheers!

    • Paul Stewart January 8, 2017 at 10:59 pm

      Hi Dean – all this says is that the racket isn’t to your taste. Every player is different and will feel a racket in a different way. I know players who will say opposite to you and some that would probably agree with you.

      That’s the great aspect of this gaem…all players are different and there isn’t one racket that will suit everybody.

  8. IanOh May 7, 2016 at 1:01 pm

    Hi Paul

    I have the Brave sword LHI and love it. I’m looking to get a second one of these but they don’t make them anymore. would you say the JS10 and LHI are similar? or is the JS10 a lot faster?

    Thanks

  9. Amey Kulkarni February 15, 2016 at 2:54 pm

    Hello Paul,

    “My goodness if Victor could add a little more weight to the head, this racket will be my utopia.”

    I’ve been meaning to ask you this from long time, have you used “Victor Powerizer” and does it work? I bought a new Li-Ning racket but it’s a bit head light for my liking. Will it help me if I add Victor Powerizer on top of the frame?

    • Paul Stewart February 16, 2016 at 12:58 pm

      Amey

      I used the POwerizer and it made a difference providing that little extra weight where required. The good news is there was no noticeable fall in speed so that’s good news.

  10. Jay January 25, 2016 at 4:25 pm

    Hello Paul,

    Many thanks for your reply.

    When I was playing singles, I used to prefer head heavy rackets in 3U, finding them convening to the nature of my playstyle. Compared to doubles, the game wasn’t that fast and did not require a light and maneuverable racket. However, since a few years, I have been playing doubles only and have found that lighter rackets are better matches for my games, noting that I still prefer them with some head heaviness (I once tried a Nanospeed 9000 and couldn’t extract any power from it with my normal swing. When I swung faster, I just ended up with pains in the arm. Hated it, really…).

    4U (and lately the 5U from Yonex, though the 5U is quite an exception…) has been my benchmark when buying rackets for doubles. In this way, I can better evaluate rackets of the same weight on other criteria like speed, head heaviness, stiffness, etc.

    Given that my swing speed during play isn’t that amazing, but fast enough to play competitive games, and that I have a preference for head heavy rackets (whilst still fine with head heavy end of even balance if they are powerful), which of the BS12 and the JS-10 do you think will be better than my LYD in fast doubles ?

    Any thoughts on the Jetspeed Ahmad compared to the LYD, in terms of head heaviness, stiffness and , above all, speed ?

    To sum it up, I am looking for a faster racket than my LYD, preferably head heavy (or head heavy end of even balance, but not head light, which would require a higher swing speed for power extraction).

    My best regards,

    Jay

    • Paul Stewart February 16, 2016 at 1:08 pm

      Jay

      Ahmad in a 4U should really do well for you. I have one in my bag and so many players have commented how good it is and how good it looks. It’s quick and powerful

  11. Jay January 20, 2016 at 11:10 pm

    Dear Paul,

    It is with enthusiasm that I have been reading your racket reviews, admittedly over the last few months, and would appreciate if you could be kind enough to provide some guidance regarding the choice of a new racket.

    Over decades, only Yonex existed as my brand of racket, the last one being the Voltric I-force. That’s a 5U racket which surpassed everything else I’ve been using in doubles; it indeed ticks all the attributes I favour: maneuvrability and head heaviness, a rare combination.

    However, lately, I’ve stepped up to higher level (intermediate/advanced) games and feel that the VTIF is somehow falling short of speediness. Starting my quest for a new racket, I couldn’t find anything meeting my needs from Yonex and, from racket charts and your reviews, I tried the Victor Brave Sword LYD in 4U with BG-80 P at 24 lb.

    Holy God, I was amazed by the quickness and power of this racket, despite its head heaviness. My game improved so much in both defence and smashes.

    I am now looking for another Victor ‘Speed’ racket, faster than the LYD and preferably in 4U, medium-stiff and slightly head heavy; can cope with an even balance though if it’s powerful. I was thinking of the Brave Sword 12 and the Jetspeed 10, but am really not sure which one would better convene to my need for additional speed without sacrificing too much on power relative to the LYD.

    What would be your thoughts on this matter ?

    My apologies for the long post

    Best,

    Jay

    • Paul Stewart January 25, 2016 at 9:42 am

      Jay – both BS12 and Jetspeed 10 are excellent rackets. BS12 is lighter in the head compared to your LYD version. That said, why would you need a 4U? Jetspeed 10 is superb. i have the 4U version. It is so fast and yet still very powerful.

  12. ppt92811 January 20, 2016 at 6:46 am

    Hi Paul
    I am wondering if 5U can hold up to 28 lbs or not?
    Thank you

    • Paul Stewart January 25, 2016 at 9:41 am

      A Jetspeed 10 will most likely hold this tension but I wouldn’t recommend it. The head is really strong however I have no experience with the 5U version.

  13. gradors2i November 25, 2015 at 7:44 am

    Hi Coach Paul,
    I am a proud owner of the Victor Bravesword Lee Hyun Il, Meteor X JJS, Thruster K 6000, and Jetspeed Yoo Yeon Seong. I am thinking of adding this JS10 to my collection. I was wondering how powerful this racket is compared to my rackets. Which is it closest to? Thanks.

    Tom

    • Paul Stewart November 29, 2015 at 8:59 pm

      Tommy all of these rackets are extremely good. Why on earth do you need another racket? What do you feel is missing to require another racket?

      As you appear to be able to obtain rackts that are unavailable in the UK I gather you could obtain a 3U JS10 which I think is even better than the 4U I tested. Some will disagree but I think it needs a touch more weight to have the additional hitting power.

      Paul

      • gradors2i January 6, 2016 at 10:57 pm

        Hi Coach Paul,
        I recently got my hands on a 3U JS10 and it is indeed very fast. It is a bit hard to time large motion shots at first but incredibly easy to turn defense into offense. As for my many rackets. I’m actually promoting your recommended rackets to my community while collecting. I want to let people try out these rackets and give them a chance before judging in favor of Yonex’s marketing.
        -Tom

      • Paul Stewart January 11, 2016 at 10:30 am

        Hi Tom

        Many thanks for your comment. I found that the JS10 is so fast that you don’t need to swing it so hard. Once you ease off the power and speed are there.

        I hope many more members of your club enjoy JS10 or other Victor rackets as much as I do.

        Paul

  14. Jim November 12, 2015 at 2:24 am

    Well, I actually got a genuine JS10 at a well-known local shop for only £90!

    I have played with it for about 5 matches and I have to say that your review is really accurate. Super fast frame with easy clears, solid smash that is almost as hard as VTZF2, defending and net play is truly a blast. I also noticed a pretty significant improvement in my control department over VTZF2.

    Great great racket, might have to hang my VTZF2 now and it’s all thanks to your JS10 review!

    • dunz123 March 9, 2016 at 4:00 am

      Hi Jim, can I know where did u buy the racket for that price? I try to look around for one with a slightly cheaper price than RRP but found none. Might be sweet if u share with me the name of the shop. Cheers

  15. legilis November 11, 2015 at 5:34 am

    Hi, Paul. Nice review as always!
    Considering that I have been hearing good things about JS10, I might get one pretty soon to put it up against my VTZF2 as my primary racket for double.
    It costs about £105 here in Indonesia, good deal?

    • Paul Stewart November 11, 2015 at 10:06 am

      wow that is a good deal. They are considerably more in Europe but then again we have the extra shipping and storage costs to pay for.

  16. hamz10 September 27, 2015 at 12:25 pm

    Hey paul! My freind was telling me about victor rackets.

    http://www.badmintonbest.com/victor-v-3700-review/

    Is this one good? Have you used it before?

    • Paul Stewart October 7, 2015 at 3:52 pm

      I haven’t heard of this racket and my guess is that this is old.

    • Paul Stewart November 11, 2015 at 10:10 am

      I haven’t seen this racket before so cannot comment. Obviously Victor make quality rackets otherwise i wouldn’t have left Yonex.

  17. ggman8988 August 13, 2015 at 8:27 pm

    HI Paul,

    I recently purchased TK6000 after reading your review, as you mentioned you rated JS10 5star GOLD, what would you rate TK6000 after testing JS10? 5star silver? bronze?

    would you please leave quick comparison between 2 rackets?

    • Paul Stewart August 24, 2015 at 1:51 pm

      I don’t change my original ratings as it’s unfair to do so. That’s why I created the additional rating categories. I stand by my comments on TK6000 and have received so many emails from players confirming my review was accurate.

Leave A Comment