Victor Meteor 60 Badminton Racquet Review

– Posted in: Badminton Equipment, Badminton Racket Written Reviews, Victor Badminton Rackets

Background

As I work for a badminton retailer, I am occasionally asked to review other manufacturer’s racquets. Against this backcloth, I recently tested a Victor Meteor 60 badminton racquet and got a huge surprise.

A few years ago, the Victor brand was extremely small in UK, mainly considered a European brand. We knew very little about their products and level of quality. That changed when it was announced that they were the new sponsors of the Korean National Badminton Team. This was a serious leap forward for Victor and ultimately gave them an international seal of approval in terms of quality. After all, if a racquet is good enough for Lee Yong Dae, current Olympic Mixed Doubles champion, 2012 All England Mens Doubles Champion, World Mens Doubles Silver Medallist, and his team, then it must be good!

On to my review…

Victor Meteor 60 Badminton Racquet

Victor Meteor 60

The Meteor 60 is the “third” racquet in the Meteor series, the rising stars of the Victor badminton range, sitting “behind” the 70 and 80.

The colours and graphics on this racquet are striking, very reminiscent of MP99 and similar to Victors Kerf. It’s nice to see bold colours once in a while and this racquet delivers using a nice combination of yellow, black, grey and red. As you would expect, Victor offers a high quality racquet bag in red with the Meteor graphic.

Grip size is G3 which is the larger of the two grip sizes on Victor racquets. It’s equivalent to Yonex G4, which is a bit confusing as it would be nice to have standardisation across the industry. This is not a slant on Victor as other manufacturers follow similar sizings. Weight is 3U (84-89g). Interestingly, this racquet has a maximum recommended stringing tension of 30lbs so it’s got to be very strong and should be extremely popular in the Asian market where strings tensions are so much higher.

I do like the clear description on the ferrule of the specifications for the racquet. Vicor use a 5 dot system which is simple to understand. Meteor 60 is a medium flex shaft with slight weight in the head.

Usually when I test and review racquets, I like to play with the racquet factory strung. On this occasion, the Meteor 60 was delivered as a frame only and I therefore had the racquet strung in VS850 to 23lbs, which is a standard demo tension for the retailer. It would have been nice to have my preferred tension but at least it’s fair to test on this basis.

The Meteor range uses Victor’s 80 hole stringing pattern, which I think really works. There are less shared holes and whilst stringing may be a little fiddly, the new pattern ensures a more consistent weave over the stringbed.

It’s hitting time…

Having already tested Meteor 80 and Meteor 70 racquets, I was looking forward to testing this racquet in the hope that the medium flex shaft would add a welcome new dimension to the playability of the Meteor range. I am delighted to confirm that the racquet performed beautifully and considerably above my expectations.

Overhead Performance

Do you ever pick up a racquet and just know it’s going to be good? When I walked on to court with Meteor 60, I had one of those moments that I had previously had with Bravesword 10 – I just knew it was going to be good.

The first hit confirmed that this racquet had that special quality. Clears were effortless and there was plenty of touch for drop shots. The racquet really cuts through the air quickly which allows for great speed, although the control is still there. The string tension felt “right” for this racquet and the beauty here is that it can be strung a lot tighter too, so there is potential for even greater performance.

There’s a little weight in the head, which is good as you can feel the flow of the racquet in the swing, and enhances performance and control.

The combination of the air resistance qualities of the racquet, the medium flex shaft and the slight weight in the head, generate a lot of power. Yes, this is definitely a powerful racquet. It certainly delivered more than I expected, not quite as much as a heavier head would but that’s not a bad thing because this type of racquet is generally regarded by many as a great all-rounder.

Clears were easy with Victor Meteor 60 and the touch of weight in the head wasn’t over-bearing. I think it’s a good feature because it allows the player to have more feel of the shot, something light-headed racquets do not deliver. The aero-dynamic qualities of the frame reduce any drag that some more “boxy” shaped frames suffer from, which ensured speed and precision in the more subtle overhead shots.

Defence

Defensively this racquet was easy to use. Again, the air resistance qualities of the head made the racquet easy to manoeuvre and the slight weight in the head did not counter this speed. In fact, the combination worked very well indeed as you felt there was some meat behind drive returns. I feel the racquet gives you confidence to step in a little in defence rather than have to sit back and wait for the shuttle. I could feel the flex in the shaft occasionally when I was asked to really whip a return, but there were no mis-timing issues whatsoever, with the racquet performing admirably whenever called upon.

Net Area

A racquet that performs well in defence always performs well around the net area. After all, we’re talking about generating controlled racquet speed here, in very short bursts with the slightest touch for the really tight net shots. It’s the type of racquet that lifts your confidence and wants you to continue attacking with every opportunity in order to dominate the net. Again, Meteor 60 was outstanding.

Summary

It’s been a long time since I’ve had the pleasure of testing another manufacturer’s racquet of such quality. The Meteor 60 was outstanding in every area I tested. I expect RRP to be around £130.00 which is incredible for a racquet of this quality, especially as other manufacturers are now offering racquets with RRP in excess of £200.00. I say this as the racquet is due for launch around August 2012 in Europe. Retailers will discount to around £110 so you’re getting an absolute bargain here.

The Bravesword 10 had the accolade of being my first 5 star racquet in the Victor range and also my first 5 star racquet out of all the other manufacturer’s ranges I’ve tested. Since then Victor have collected a few other 5 star ratings and I have to say that Meteor 60 is certainly deserves a place alongside Bravesword 10 and therefore I have given this racquet my 5 star rating. Credit to Victor again for producing such a brilliant racquet.

Putting my known affiliations aside, and my usual preference for heavy-headed racquets, I would certainly select this as my racquet of choice if I was selecting from Victor range.

There’s no question that the Victor brand is now world class. Whilst it’s relatively unknown in UK at the moment, I’m sure that their quality and pricing will easily find a way into the market. You’d be wise to test Victor’s Meteor 60 when it is launched later in the year if you can find one, because this level of quality deserves a place next to the most well-known brands.

16 Comments… add one

bakulaw April 26, 2012, 7:32 am

Hi Paul,

How do you compare this with the Voltric 70? Both are supposedly medium flex and slightly head heavy. Please compare stiffness, balance, swing speed, feel, etc.
I have the impression you tend to favor the MX60 more.

Please also compare with the Bravesword 11. The MX60 should pack in more power being the head heavy racket but defence should go down a notch (can you assess by how much?)

Thanks a lot.

Paul May 1, 2012, 9:31 am

Bakulaw

That’s a big ask. Each racquet has a different feel so it’s like asking me to compare apples and oranges. Both are good for you but taste differently.

Victor have changed BS11 from the model I tested so I cannot add that into the equation. I will not be re-testing BS11 as I have enough to do, nevermind looking back at older models. After all, this is not a racquet testing blog, although it seems that it’s becoming one, which is not the intention.

I do feel that MX60 is an overall better racquet but it really depends what you want from a racquet. I know players who have VT70 and they liked MX60 but wouldn’t change.

As usual personal taste will always win so I can’t tell you very much because how you feel a racquet will be completely different to me. You could play with MX60 and love it. Likewise, you could play with VT70 and love it – I just don’t know how you will feel about a racquet. Comparing isn’t going to give you the answer you seek unless you have both racquets to compare for yourself.

Good luck

Paul

Justin August 16, 2012, 7:54 am

Hi Paul, I am just wondering between the Victor Meteor 60 and Yonex Voltric 5 and Yonex Voltric 80 where does the Meteor 60 place in terms of Head Heaviness? Thanks

Paul August 19, 2012, 9:08 am

Justin

It’s not always easy to answer this question because i do not have the rackets with me to test and compare. I review rackets at different times and therefore you are asking me to go off memory which really means best guess.

I would say Meteor 60 sits slightly heavier than VT5 and some distance off VT80.

Paul

nicholascn August 25, 2012, 11:50 am

Hi Paul,
I am currently playing badminton because of my friends, but I started enjoying it and I was thinking about buying a new racket.

I’ve once tested my friend’s Arcsaber 10 , VT80, and VT70

For me, your victor mx60 review was interesting and I am interested in buying it
I usually play doubles, my style of playing is I like to smash but also feel a little control in the racket. From the rackets I’ve tested i still prefer using the arcsaber but i think i need a little more head heavier racket. Some suggests VT60.

I was wondering which racket will you choose for all around racket with slightly heavy head
MX60 / BS10 / VT60?
Also i prefer rackets in medium stiffness or flexible stiffness.

Thanks.

Paul August 29, 2012, 8:28 am

All of these racquets will do the job very well indeed.

Bearing in mind you are relatively new to badminton, I would also suggest looking at VT5 or VT7 because they are a lot cheaper and will do the job for you just as well.

You may find that investing in a little coaching will really help you because any flaws in your technique can be ironed out therefore allowing you to enjoy the game even more.

To your success

Paul

jafermin September 7, 2012, 8:34 pm

Hi Paul,

First, many thank for this site. I played quite a bit as a teenager and your site has helped me get back on court after almost a 20 year layoff.

I still own a Cab 20 Power (marketed as a Cab21 in some countries) which I bought around 96 but never really used and based on a review from your site, I purchased an Armortec600. I fully prefer my AT600. I find it somewhat more powerful, and much faster on defense.

I wanted another AT600 as a back up, but I’m given to understand that they have been discontinued (any insight as to why?)! So now I’m looking for a new racquet and thought I’d try another brand and this review caught me eye.

Any insights into comparisons between the AT600 and the Meteor 60? Also, you mentioned in this review that you had tested the Meteor 70 and 80 but I couldn’t find a post on that. Any thoughts on those racquets with regards to the AT600?

Thanks for your time.

Paul September 10, 2012, 3:15 pm

Jafermin

AT600 was discontinued because the whole range has been withdrawn by Yonex in favour of the the Voltric range. there are still places you can buy AT600 if you want another.

Meteor 60 is a very good racket indeed and plays beautifully. I’m not sure it is as head heavy as AT600, although there won’t be much difference. Without having the two rackets side by side, it is difficult to compare.

I haven’t written reviews on Meteor 70 and 80 although have tested them. Meteor 80 is a lot stiffer than Meteor 60 and I didn’t find it played as well. Meteor 70 was a bit more forgiving and plays very close to Meteor 60, but not as nice graphically. For me Metoer 60 was the best of the 3 although there are many Meteor 80 fans to disagree with me.

It is hard to suggest a close replacement for AT600 so I would recommend you test a few Voltric rackets and the Metoers if you can and see what you feel is the best for you.

to your success

paul

Yoty October 27, 2012, 6:39 pm

Hey Paul,

Firstly: Brilliant review! Thanks for keeping this site at such a good standard!

I have been wondering how good the mx 60 is at the front court, since I am now playing alot more at the front with drives and intercepts. I would have bought the Bravesword LYD straight away if I hadn’t read this article!

And I was wondering which racket plays better at the front but doesnt sacrifice too much power from the back court? Or if you have any other good suggestions that would be good too?

I have tried the mx 80 but couldnt play for longer than one game with it since it hurt my elbow. But the drives and defense was amazing and the racket was just so stable. I have also owned an armotec 900p which was really powerful but just a bit slow. Currently i am using a nanospeed 800 which is head light and stiff since all my other rackets are out of use.

Many Thanks,

Yoty

Paul October 30, 2012, 9:54 pm

Yoty

many thanks for your comments and questions.

I think the Meteor series are very under-rated rackets. However, when you compare with Bravesword range then you realise how good they are. I am a big fan of Bravesword range by Victor. I recently tested BS Lee Yong Dae and was very impressed although it would quite top my 5 star rating on MX60. It would be very close.

What you need to remember is Bravesword frames are very fast. So, you do get the best from them due to the speed through the air. They excel in defence and around the net for this reason, although they are are also extremely good at the rear court. Personally I think they lack a touch “beef” in this department but they are still superb to play in every area of the court.

LYD is similar balance to MX60 from memory but will not feel as solid in the hit as the Meteor due to the air resistance qualities of the frame I assume. I think I’ve answered your question in terms of which racket performs at the front and rear court. I would certainly keep MX60 in mind as it’s a stunning performer.

To your success

Paul

Herbert February 12, 2013, 9:21 am

Hi Paul,
I know that others may have sent similar messages but i’m planning on buying my next racquet and i want your professional advice.
Which yonex racquet wouldyou say the Meteor X 60 is most similar to. And how would the Arcsaber 10 and Meteor X 70 compare to it.
Thanks for your time, Herbert

Paul February 14, 2013, 2:09 pm

Hi Herbert

That’s a touch question as rackets have completely different feel. Arcsaber 10 has been discontinued and will be succeeded by Arcsaber 11 which is now out in some countries. Arcsaber 10 is stiffer than Meteor 70.

The nearest Yonex racket to Meteor 60 is possibly Voltric 70 with head heavy, medium flex shaft specifications. But, Voltric won’t feel as full in the head.

Paul

derekw March 27, 2013, 4:47 pm

Hi Paul,

I am considering getting a new racket and demo’d a Voltric 70 which I found a bit too stiff and head heavy. I currently use a med flex racket which is slightly head heavy (closer to even head balance than the voltric) & I am more offense oriented.

I am hoping the Meteor 60 will fit my game more comfortably. Can you tell me how the Meteor 60 compares to the V70 in these regards?

Thanks,

Derek

Paul March 28, 2013, 2:08 pm

Derek

Many thanks for your question.

Overall I felt Meteor was a more solid performer compared to VT70. However, if you feel VT70 is too head heavy and too stiff then perhaps you need to think again. Personally I would consider either Yonex Arcsaber 7, Voltric 5/7 or Victor Bravesword 12 as better alternatives in terms of flex and balance. You’ll find BS12 is a lot faster through the air due to its design. Current All England mixed champions use BS12 so you’d be in good company. Arcsaber 7 has been a very good performer for Yonex although I don’t know of any high profile players using it at the moment.

I hope this helps

Paul

michaelR April 27, 2013, 2:57 pm

paul,
has this been withdrawn from the range? if so is there an obvious replacement?

Paul April 29, 2013, 11:58 am

Michael

I understand it was withdrawn from Europe range for 2013 but looks to make a return. What this really means is that it’s never gone away as far as the availability for retailers to purchase…it was not included in the 2013 Catalogue.

Paul