Yonex Voltric Z Force Badminton Racquet Review

Yonex Voltriz Z Force Badminton Racquet

Without doubt the talk of the badminton world, in particular friends of Yonex, for the first quarter of 2012, was the new racquet used by World No1 Lee Chong Wei. He won the opening two tournaments of the year using a mysterious new racquet, which created a huge amount of interest from players scrambling for information regards to the name of the racquet and when it would be available for purchase.

Fast forward to March 2012 when the new Voltric Z Force was finally launched to the world. Initial data suggests it’s stiffer and heavier in the head compared to VT80. It also has a thinner shaft and slightly smaller head. This was sounding like Voltric’s version of Arcsaber Z Slash.

After many weeks of waiting, I’ve finally managed to test this racquet. So let’s get on with the review and see if the initial data is correct and how this translates into playability on court.

Voltric Z Force arrived in the standard Voltric cover. It’s a good looking racquet although unusual colours for Yonex combining a matt finish in black/dark green and white with metallic lime green flashes – very nice but won’t be everyone’s taste. Reading on the forums I gather there have been a few issues with the paint/stickers coming away from the frame during stringing, although I haven’t witnessed this myself. If true, then this is poor for the top of the range racquet from the premium brand.

The Z Force also has a white grip which will soon discolour through use. Whilst it looks good, it’s not very practical unless you apply overgrips. On the ferrule there is a new style hologram which is very colourful and probably Yonex’s latest attempt to prevent copying.

This is a standard 3U (weight 84-89g) G4 (small grip which is now the norm for Yonex), version. Overseas there is a 4U weight available but in UK we only receive one weight and one grip size so we do not have the luxury to choose a different profile. This could be important, especially for doubles players needing the lighter frame for speed.

The racquet is strung reasonably tight in Yonex BG65Ti string, so at least it has a quality string, albeit the tension is a little low. Most players buying this racquet will have the racquet custom strung so it’s a bit disappointing that we do not have the option to purchase the frame only – which is the standard offering in many countries.

I also noticed the string pattern was different to that on VT80 and seems to follow the same pattern as Z Slash. It’s clear there is an extra cross string at the top of the frame and one less towards the throat. Maximum tension on this racquet is 27lbs which is sufficient for most players.
Whilst the racquet measures identical to VT80, it’s clear that the handle is longer by around 5-6mm and the shaft is shorter by the same margin. The shaft is also thinner. A quick flex confirms that the shaft is considerably stiffer compared to VT80.

The head of the Z Force is also shorter by 5-6mm and considerably wider which suggests a requirement for added stability, strength and weight. It will be interesting to see whether there are timing issues with this racquet as we witnessed with Z Slash, because of non-standard size head.

It’s hitting time…

I must confess that prior to testing this racquet I received an injury which caused me a lot of pain and discomfort in my upper back. The question for me as I stepped onto court was whether this racquet would help me or result in a short session and a need to test again. Sadly for me my injury was worse than initially thought and I couldn’t even lift my head properly to look at the shuttle which precipitated me abandoning this test session.
I will continue this review and edit in a few days when I can hopefully test the racquet properly.

Three weeks on and my injury is clearing although is far from resolved. However, I have been on court and tested the Z Force.

Hitting clears with this racquet is a joy if you like head heavy racquets. The extra weight in the head is noticeable and extremely powerful. I loved the extra control I felt through guiding the weighted head and the additional accuracy I got as a result. Excellent. Nice, easy, simple strokes of the shuttle sent the shuttle where I wanted it. Boy, this is even better than VT80 – and that’s saying a lot!

Moving on to drops shots, again I loved the extra weight. There was a greater feeling of solidity in the shots, something I’ve never felt before. I also felt I had the ultimate control in terms of placement and again the results in the shots were better than my VT80.

The big test was next. What’s it like in the smash department? With my current injury, I wasn’t able to put any effort into this shot which was incredibly disappointing. However, half smashes were very good and accurate. Handing the racquet to Mark was very interesting. Mark normally uses Arcsaber 8DX and is a hard hitter. However, with Z Force he was booming smashes. They were travelling towards me like rockets – easily the best he’s ever hit. So, whilst I wasn’t in a position to check for myself what Z Force could do, I was the recipient of its awesome power and accuracy.

Defensively the Z Force has a few tricks up its sleeve. Let’s be fair here, this is not going to be the quickest racquet in defence. However, the aerodynamic Voltric frame was still very fast. The weight again provided that extra solid base and punch in the returns, so I found I wanted to drive the shuttle rather than lift it. Blocks were fabulous because I could use the smallest movement to get a good result. It would be very interesting to test a 4U weighted Yonex Z Force and compare results.

When I originally tested Arcsaber Z Slash, I commented on the timing issues this racquet presented. I am pleased to say that the Voltric Z Force did not display any of these problems. I did miss-time a couple of defensive lobs, returning one of Mark’s powerful smashes, however, this was purely me getting used to the weight of the racquet and the speed my hands needed to work at compared to my VT80.

Moving on to the net area…

A few minutes attack verses defence with me attacking at the net proved interesting. This is where I felt the racquet was weakest. After a few minutes play I was getting tired. Normally this isn’t an issue and I cannot blame my injury here. Moving the weighty head at speed over short distances proved difficult and I soon began making errors and slowing down. This is where I a 4U version will shine, although it won’t be available in UK.

I was capable of playing net shots, but when you need to accelerate and stop the racquet over short distances it really doesn’t like it. That’s not what it was meant to do. In singles this is generally not much of an issue as the game is played at a different pace. However, for doubles, speed is important and Voltric Z Force was definitely slower in this department. My Voltric 80 out shines the Z Force around the net and if truth be told I feel this also applies defensively, although I really love the feel of Z Force defensively.

Summary

Let’s be honest here, this racquet is not for everybody. With only one version available in UK, the heavier version, there are only a minority of players who will really suit the racquet. However, because of the endorsement of Lee Chong Wei, or the fact it’s the top of the range Voltric, I’m sure many will be sold on this basis – not very wise reasons for buying this racquet.

Overall, I really liked the racquet and in many respects in out played my Voltric 80, mostly from rear court. But, this is what it’s built for; power, accuracy, and feel. The beauty with the Z Force is that it doesn’t suffer the frame timing issues of Z Slash so Yonex have learnt or listened before launching this racquet.

It’s not as good defensively although it is still very good and where it really lacks is the short speed shots around the net.

What I did like a lot was the overall solid feeling this racquet has and immense power it’s able to unleash for the right person. Bear in mind here, if you do not have a powerful smash and/or good technique, this racquet is NOT going to make you a powerhouse on court, although it will give you a bit more oomph in the power department.

RRP for this racquet is a whopping £210 in UK although online discounters will be selling for around £180 mark. It’s very expensive and as I said earlier, Voltric Z Force badminton racquet is not for everybody. It’s a lot more than just a one trick pony and what it does do well it does better than any racquet I’ve tested before. But, it cannot deliver a full package at this level.

My article on choosing a racquet suggests that there are a number of key questions you need to ask yourself before considering choosing a new racquet. Essentially what do you want the racquet to give you more of and what are you prepared to accept slightly less of. In the case of Voltric Z Force, these questions are very important, bearing in mind the additional weight in the head and the stiffer shaft, which combine very well but cannot give you everything on your wanted list.

I’ve thought long and hard about my score for Voltric Z Force. Price is a huge consideration although value for money is the correct expression. In terms of delivering outstanding overhead power, feel and accuracy it scores well, but there again there are those weak areas.

To wrap this review up, I give Voltric Z Force a four star rating. It’s good, it’s great, and it’s better than OK. Would I change from my beloved VT80? I don’t think so, but I may just keep one in my bag from time to time to test again when I am fully recovered.

47 Comments

  1. alantong April 18, 2014 at 6:29 am

    hey paul, just wondering if youre going to be reviewing the Voltric Z Force II?
    thanks, keep up the good work 🙂

    • Paul Stewart
      Paul Stewart April 18, 2014 at 11:21 am

      Alan

      Yes I am. It is currently in my bag going through my testing process.

      Paul

  2. Pats September 13, 2013 at 11:47 am

    Hi Paul,

    I am now playint with a VT 80 and VT Z Force, wanting to upgrade my racquest any suggestions, I play both singles doubles, and I hit a lot of shots, please advise which will be a good racquet to upgrade to?? thanks man!!

    • Paul Stewart
      Paul Stewart September 17, 2013 at 11:36 pm

      Pats

      I think you are falling for the marketing trap here. What do you mean by upgrade beyond VT80 or Z Force? What are these rackets not giving you?

      Paul

  3. anujdatta March 13, 2013 at 4:24 pm

    Hi Paul,

    I need your advise to choose between the Voltric Z-Force & Victor SiW 35.

    I’m a hard smash hitter. Usually play singles. I use to play with MP-100 but recently I lost my racket.

    Comparing prices i’m getting the Victor SiW 35 for EUR 80. The Voltric Z-Force is much more expensive.

    Please suggest which one would be a better buy.

    Thanks

    Anuj

    • Paul
      Paul March 16, 2013 at 1:17 pm

      I know of many players who would love to buy an SW35 as they are virtually extinct nowadays. Likewise I know of many players who suggest the Z Force is the best racket Yonex have ever made.

      Only you can decide but it would seem you could buy more SW35’s for the price of 1 Z Force – therefore you would have an identical spare.

      Good luck and let me know which you choose.

      Paul

  4. vishwakc March 11, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    I am an intermediate player and have been using Yonex carbonex 21 (2U, G4) racket for about 4 years. I am going to buy a new racket, can anyone please tell me if Z force is a nice replacement. thanks

    • Paul
      Paul March 12, 2013 at 11:40 pm

      Z Force is a very nice racket, however whether it’s a good replacement for Carbonex 21 is a different question.

      When Yonex introduced Cab 21, there was no such thing as head light, even balance or head heavy rackets. So you are trying to compare different era’s in racket technology. All I can suggest is you borrow friends rackets and see which you feel is best for you and hopefully plays better than Cab 21. If you don’t find a racket which helps you play better, stick with Cab 21 if it’s in good condition.

      Paul

  5. 2vincent4 December 27, 2012 at 1:14 am

    And I want to increase my smash power too, so what the racket will be suitable for me? But my budget is low can you help me give your opinion about this problem? Thanks Paul 🙂

  6. 2vincent4 December 27, 2012 at 1:11 am

    Hey Paul I really appreciate your reviews,
    I have a question, my smash power is bad but my net is rather good..
    What the racket do you prefer for me?
    Thanks before, and sorry about my bad english..

  7. camila November 10, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    Hello Paul, I’d been playing with the Nano 8000 for more than 2 years now and I’m tempted by the Voltric 80 (or Voltric Z).
    Since I’m a doubles player, with an old wrist injury, I want a racquet similar to the Nano, that has fitted me fine.
    I wonder if this is a right choice to make.

    Thanks for your great advices and comments.

    Camilla

    • Paul
      Paul November 11, 2012 at 9:36 pm

      Camila

      If you are playing with Nanospeed rackets which are head light, then Voltric is completely the wrong racket, considering you wish for a similar racket to what you already use. Surely you mean the Nanoray range?

      Paul

  8. Nick D October 14, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    Just seen this racket in Decathlon Nottingham at 129.99! solid 50quid cheaper than i’ve seen elsewhere. Needless to say i coughed up for a wear and a spare and found they do 10% off 2 matching rackets too!! Nano9900 will be staying encased for a long time!

    • Paul
      Paul October 16, 2012 at 3:55 pm

      Nick

      Thanks for that. I am amazed at that price and can only think somebody has made a mistake. I have also shopped at Decathlon and found their rackets to be a lot more expensive than the online retailers.

      I’m glad you got a bargain.

      Paul

  9. baddylov3r October 6, 2012 at 8:38 am

    Hi Paul

    I have used the AT900 technique for a long time now and every time I try a newer yonex racquet I end up back with the 900. Can you suggest any of the newer yonex models that would likely be similar and why they would be easiest to adjust to? I’m looking at the z force but I have a feeling it’ll be too head heavy for my liking

    Thank you

    • Paul
      Paul October 6, 2012 at 2:01 pm

      AT900T is still available so I would buy a few more whilst they are.

      If you are really set on changing, then I am struggling thinking of a racket that is close. You will need to test from Voltric range. If you like playing with a stiff-shafted racket then VT9 may fit the bill. Z Force is too head heavy and possibly VT80 too. If you don’t mind try a medium flex shaft, then i would look at VT5, VT7 or VT70.

      The alternative is to take a look at Victor Meteor 60, 70 or 80 which aren’t as head heavy.

      Paul

  10. Nick September 29, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    Hi Paul, I’m planning to get a voltric z-force but I’m not sure which version to go with, 3U or 4U. After reading your review, you said 3U is less maneuverable at front court. On top of that, you claimed that you get tired after 30mins of play due to the head heaviness. I have tried the 4U version last week. After playing with it for a few minutes, I felt that I could move the racket around easily to the extend that I don’t feel the head heaviness (I am a AT700 3U first gen user). I lost the ‘feel’ of the shuttle which led me to the lost of control of the shuttle and I couldn’t feel the power of my shot. Can you clarify more in terms of maneuverability and the heaviness (since you claimed that you get tired after 30mins of play) between 3U and 4U? Thanks.

    • Paul
      Paul September 30, 2012 at 11:58 am

      Nick

      We rarely have 4U Yonex rackets in UK so I can’t answer your question as fully as I would like.

      All I can suggest is that you test other players rackets and make a judgement for yourself whether you prefer 3U or 4U.

      Good luck

      Paul

  11. ujjwal September 11, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    hey paul,
    which is better according to you voltric 80(3u) or voltric 80(4u)..
    If any idea then please tell.
    If you have not played with 4u then also if you could guess which is better.

    Ujjwal

    • Paul
      Paul September 12, 2012 at 10:37 pm

      Ujjwal

      I can’t guess which racket is better. I only give an opinion on rackets I personally test and certainly will not make up an opinion without play-testing.

      If you’re not sure which you should order then ask around until you can borrow one.

      Sorry I can’t help more.

      Paul

  12. Liu August 27, 2012 at 10:58 am

    Hi Paul

    i,ve just bought a vt80.i wonder what is the most suitable string and tension for this racket.
    i was quite a smasher . please suggest several types of string for me.

    i prefer Yonex but others brand also acceptable as it is suitable

    Thanks,
    Steven

    • Paul
      Paul August 29, 2012 at 8:25 am

      Steven

      There is no such thing as the best string for a particular type of racquet. String selection is as personal as choosing a racquet. Some players prefer very thin gauge whilst others prefer a thicker gauge for durability.

      So you need to test. There are plenty of comments regarding testing strings on my forum.

      Good luck

      Paul

  13. priestowns August 8, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    Hi Paul,

    I mainly play Mixed Doubles as the guy, do you think I should buy either Voltric 80 or the Voltric Z-Force. I am also not able to demo the racket.

    Thanks,
    Darren

    • Paul
      Paul August 8, 2012 at 9:38 pm

      Darren

      i don’t know the answer. Can I suggest you read my article on choosing a racquet and you will have all the answers you need.

      Good luck

      Paul

  14. dragonistear June 18, 2012 at 8:57 pm

    Hi Paul,
    If the Zforce has the same head size as the Z-slash, how is it that there is no timing issues with this racket compared to the Z-slash?
    Thanks,
    David

    • Paul
      Paul June 22, 2012 at 5:57 pm

      David

      The Z Force does not have the same size head as the Z Slash.

      Paul

  15. Peyton June 18, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    Hey Paul,

    First off, love the review. Just wondering when you were thinking of uploading your video you promised on the comparison of the Voltric Z Force and Voltric 80 on your youtube channel. Can’t wait.

    Thanks.

    • Paul
      Paul June 22, 2012 at 5:59 pm

      As yet I haven’t had the time or opportunity to record the video.

      I literally had a few days with Z Force before I had to give it back. When I get the chance to borrow it again I will be making the video but I’m not sure when that will be.

      With the best will in the world, I have to fit around my retailer lending me racquets to test. And, as they offer the racquets as demo models, they are in constant demand from players.

      Paul

  16. canuckythe June 15, 2012 at 2:24 am

    Hi Paul,
    I’m looking at the V80, Victor Meteor 60 (Not quite sure on the differences between the 60-80) and Brave Sword 10.
    I like to smash, but hasn’t perfected it, however I also like to defend and do soft shots, as well as have good power for clearing. So I think I’m looking for something a bit more well-rounded but also gives a good punch.
    So is the V80 really that much heavier compared to the victor’s? Am I sacrificing a lot of speed for that extra power?
    Also you rated both the Meteor and the Brave Sword 5 stars, maybe I wasn’t reading correctly but what were the differences? Also are there any yonex models that are similar? (Well-rounded, with a slight edge for power)
    I had a 95g black knight racket unstrung and my wrist was quite tired after playing for a while. My racket was quite head heavy so I didn’t move as fast with it, plus the power was a lot less (maybe it was because of the strings loosening) so I didn’t like it at all.
    I guess I’m not looking for you to specify which one fits me, but I want to see what the differences between each model is based on your professional opinion first because I’m still trying to find a store in Canada that offers demo rackets.

    • Paul
      Paul June 17, 2012 at 2:14 pm

      Hi there

      Many thanks for your question.

      It’s tough to compare a few racquets, because the feel of each is so different.

      The problem with Bravesword 10 is that it doesn’t feature in many catalogues these days. As such, it has a very limited life before it is withdrawn. I don’t know what’s happening with Meteor range and I wonder whether Victor is having a few problems with sales of these racquets. Meteor 80 has seemed to be reasonably popular although not many players are using the Meteor range. This concerns me as it is a reflection on the possible popularity of a racquet.

      I think Meteor 60 is a super racquet but that doesn’t mean it will be popular. Where I live at the moment, players appear to be buying more light headed racquets. Victor appear to be making more medium flex even-balance to head heavy racquets and I wonder whether they know something I don’t or whether the desire of the players is driving these decisions. This makes life pretty difficult as players are asking for the opposite of what some manufacturers are focussing on.

      Yonex have this covered with Nanoray series although they have not been as popular as the old Nanospeed series.

      To get down to business and answer your question. I would first of all ascertain whether BS10 is going to be available as it is a superb racquet. But, in the liklihood that is will be withdrawn soon, do you buy now whilst you can or focus on new technology? That choice is yours my friend.

      VT80 is exceptional in my opinion and that’s why I use it. I feel it’s weighty in the head and not too much. There is not going to be a massive difference between VT80 and MX60 except that VT80 will be stiffer too.

      Have you tried my armchair exercises to build key areas prior to using your Black Knight racquet. If not, please do so and see if this helps reduce the tired feeling. These exercises are really good and doing them 3-4 times per week may help you get great results. If so, you will be fine using VT80 – but you may have to keep up the exercises to get the best from it.

      To your success

      Paul

  17. sapricate May 25, 2012 at 3:09 am

    Hi Paul,

    Recently I got a Voltric 80 and I am feeling uneasy about my decision about getting it. Which would you prefer? I play both doubles and singles, mainly enjoy smashing, and net play.

    Thanks!

    • Paul
      Paul May 25, 2012 at 8:30 pm

      As far as I am concerned for me VT80 is my ideal racquet.

      The only way you know what you ideal racquet is, is to play test as many racquets as you can and hopefully you’ll be fortunate enough to find it. Sadly, it’s the only real way of knowing if a racquet is right for you or not.

      Good luck

      Paul

  18. aro May 24, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Hi Paul,

    I have been using an AT700 for a few years and find it the best racket that suits my style of play. I am now finding it increasing difficult to purchase replacements as it is out of production.
    I have tried using newer rackets from the AS and other series but cant find the right balance.In your opinion what would be the best racket from the VT series to replace the AT700 ?

    • Paul
      Paul May 24, 2012 at 11:22 pm

      Aro

      Yonex have just released a special edition Armortec 700. I have no idea when it will be released where you are and at the moment cannot tell you how it compares to your existing model. But watch out for it.

      It’s very difficult to judge what the current equivalent of AT700 is. It has to be a Voltric and bearing in mind how head heavy AT700 was, the closest i can think of is VT80 or Z Force. I’m leaning towards Z Force. But, both of these are completely different racquets and you’d need to test to validate for yourself whether one of them is close enough for you to decide to switch.

      Good luck.

      Paul

  19. Chee April 26, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    Hi Paul,

    I’ve been using AT900P for over 2 years and will be looking for something new to replace it. I like head heavy racquets and have been following your blog about VT80 and recently found out that VT Z force has arrived. Is VT80 very different to Z force or just marginally different?

    Many thanks
    Chee

    • Paul
      Paul May 1, 2012 at 9:25 am

      Chee

      VT Z Force is considerably different to VT80. I will be completing my review of Z Force today and re-posting it on my blog.

      I know a lot of players who use AT900P and have tested VT80. some have liked it and now use VT80 and others have continued using AT900P. It’s all a matter of finding a racquet that feels good for you. AT900P will be available this year and then I expect Yonex will cancel production on it.

      Paul

  20. karthiksitaraman April 24, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    I am prepared to lose little bit of control to gain a better smash.

    Even here in India we have only 3U version of Z force. I have read in other reviews that 4U version is faster and better for doubles but no one is sure whether the 4U version is comparable to the 3U version of VT80.

    • Paul
      Paul April 25, 2012 at 4:15 pm

      Without having a 4U to test I can’t say. I wouldn’t say is comparable because everything about Z Force is different so I expect you would have a lighter racquet with big sting in the head.

      Paul

  21. andri April 23, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    Hi Paul,

    I’m Andri from Indonesia, I am an intermediate single player. By the way It’s always interesting to read your racket review and I bought voltric 70 after I read your review about it, and you know what, everything you said about the racket was true. It soon became my favourite. But several days ago I bought voltric z-force (4UG5), I wanted to wait for your complete review about it, but then I decided to buy it immediately.
    There are two things that I want to share with you about voltric Z-force: First, the paint especially on the racket head was easy to come off. I think voltric 70 is a lot better than Z-Force when it comes to paint :).
    Second, I enjoy playing with voltric 70 (4UG5), but sadly when I use my voltric Z-Force I always experience a little pain on my wrist after I finish playing, about 30 minutes. Do you think the pain was caused by the racket (most head heavy)? Is it dangerous to experience such pain?

    Many thanks,
    Andri

    • Paul
      Paul April 25, 2012 at 4:19 pm

      Andri

      I would be concerned that you are experiencing pain after using a racquet. It may be that you need to do a lot more work building your wrists and forearms before you are ready for this racquet.

      For now do my armchair exercises with VT70 until you can do 3 sets of 10 reps with 30 seconds rest inbetween. Then use a book as I have shown on my video. Once you can do this you may be ready for Z Force.

      Paul

  22. karthiksitaraman April 21, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    I am eagerly awaiting your reply and your complete review of Voltric Z force, when are you putting that up? Based on your reply and my “feel” of both the racquets, I am planning to buy one of them, NS9900 is becoming a unbearable burden with each passing day!!

    Thanks,
    Karthik

  23. karthiksitaraman April 21, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    Hi Paul,

    Hope you have completely recovered from your injury.
    I like the honesty in your writing style and somehow whatever you say seems to make sense although it may be strikingly simple!

    I have been using the NS9900 and like you mentioned in one of your previous posts I find that my smashes are gradually disappearing, the racquet has almost changed my style of play from offensive to defensive, I hardly get any satisfaction from my smashes and I am beginning to show the initial symptoms of tennis elbow which I suspect is because of the combination of head lightness and stiffness of the racquet although I am not a pro and my technique might also be suspect.

    I have never used a head heavy racquet like Voltric Z force before and I am confused between buying Voltric 80 and Voltric Z force although both of them are very different racquets. I know you are a staunch advocate of “try before buy” but I don’t have that option here in India, all I can do is just to have a feel of the racquet in the retail shop before I buy. And neither do any of my friends here have both Voltric 80 and Voltric Z force which I can play and then compare and buy.

    I want to get my smash back..that was the most fun part of the game for me!! Which would you suggest between Voltric 80 and Voltric Z force? It is really tempting to buy the z force with the immense hype surrounding the racquet and it is marketed as the massive smash power racket, has a dedicated website for itself and even has testimonials from the Malaysian Nationals!

    • Paul
      Paul April 22, 2012 at 8:10 pm

      Sadly I have not recovered from my injury and am due to see the osteopath tomorrow. Hopefully the treatment will allow me to move more freely.

      I have a coaching session tomorrow night and will be using the Z Force, if I am able to move properly – I hope so. Once I have my movement restored I will complete my review of the Z Force and re-launch the review in full by the end of the week.

      Interesting that you have noticed the same power loss with NS9900. i agree it also changes your game a little without even noticing. I understand that you want to get your smash back, but what are you prepared to reduce whilst you do this?

      Here’s a few thoughts for you. In UK we only have 3U version of Z Force. I expect the 4U will play differently as it’s a lighter racquet and therefore possibly more moveable for doubles. As we only have one version in UK I would go to VT80 over Z Force from what I’ve felt so far. You may feel differently if you had the option of 4U but I cannot say.

      Paul

  24. davidpxn April 20, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    Hi, thanks for a great review.

    I’m wondering if you could tell me the differents between Arcsaber 10 and Voltric 70. What racket has more control and power? And for what kind of players and styles of playing are they best for?

    Thanks and keep up with the good work. I really appreciate it. Thanks again.

    • Paul
      Paul April 20, 2012 at 10:54 pm

      David

      Arcsaber 10 is a stiff shafted even balance racquet compared to Voltric 70 being a medium flex head heavy racquet.

      I have to hesitate to answer your next question because I feel you need to read my article on choosing a racquet. You see, as we are all different, the racquet that has more control will generally be the one you prefer to play with. Overall, head heavy racquets have more power but that does not mean you will generate more power with it compared to other racquets.

      Sadly, with both of these racquets, the best way to assess them is to borrow from others or a retailer who supplies demo racquets and then you will have the only answers that really matter – yours.

      Good luck

      Paul

  25. Ed April 14, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    Hope you get well soon, Paul !

    • Paul
      Paul April 15, 2012 at 10:20 am

      Many thanks Ed.

      It’s been a struggle. Whilst I have more movement now I know I really shouldn’t be testing again tomorrow – although I’m still going to have a go. I’ve set my goal to have the review finished and published by Tuesday night. I can them move on and write the other 11 racquet reviews I have. I feel there will be a number of reviews posted in one session so I can still have space to write my coaching articles.

      Paul

Leave A Comment